Are there any time limits on when I must file a charge of discrimination?

Generally, you must file your charge of discrimination within 180 days. However, if in your state there is a law that mirrors federal employment laws, then that deadline is extended to 300 days. For example, in Florida, we have the Florida Civil Rights Act, which mirrors the provisions of the Federal Anti Employment Discrimination laws. Accordingly, in Florida, an employee has 300 days from the date of discrimination to file a charge with the equal employment opportunity commission.